Managing Your Repositories

Use these tutorials to add, update, revert, modify, and delete your repositories in the technology catalog.

The processes are similar for URL and ZIP repositories but not exactly the same. The difference is mainly in the creation process and some other details, which will be mentioned if necessary in the corresponding steps.

Creating Repositories

You can create repositories by fetching them from a URL or by uploading a dedicated zip archive directly on Saagie.

For more information on how to create the .zip file, see Creating and Managing Technologies
  1. Click the The "Catalog" module icon is a bento button. Catalog module.
    By default, the The "Repositories" page icon is two plugs being plugged. Repositories page opens.

  2. Click Add Repository to add a new repository to the list.

  3. You can choose between:

    • Upload a zip archive on Saagie

    • Fetch your repository from a URL

    Create a zip archive of your repository and upload it on Saagie.

    1. Click Upload zip archive.

    2. Enter a name for your repository.

      It must be unique and up to 255 characters.
    3. Click Choose file and select the required zip archive in your file explorer.

    4. Click Add repository.
      You’re returned to the Repositories page updated with the newly added repository.

      The initial synchronization of your repository is done automatically based on the information that you provided in the .zip file.

    Store your repository and synchronize it with updates.

    1. Click Fetch from URL.

    2. Enter a name for your repository.

      It must be unique and up to 255 characters.
    3. Enter the URL of the repository where you stored the .zip file.

      You can use any HTTP server without authentication.
      For example, Saagie's technology repository is exposed through a GitHub .zip file accessible via the following URL: https://github.com/saagie/technologies/releases/latest/download/technologies.zip.
    4. Click Add repository.
      You’re returned to the Repositories page updated with the newly added repository.

Updating Repositories

You can add, update, and delete your technologies by updating them in your repository.

Performing updates in your technology catalog can have unexpected consequences for existing jobs, pipelines, and apps.
If a job, pipeline, or app uses a technology or technology context that has been changed or deleted because of an update, it will not be able to run. Depending on the situation, you will need to modify or possibly delete and recreate the job, pipeline, or app before continuing.

An initial synchronization occurs automatically when a repository is created, according to the information in the .zip file.
  1. Click the The "Catalog" module icon is a bento button. Catalog module.
    By default, the The "Repositories" page icon is two plugs being plugged. Repositories page opens.

  2. Click the repository you want to update in the list.
    By default, the The "Overview" page icon is a square divided into several other squares. Overview page opens.

    On this page you can see information about the last update, such as when it took place, by whom, how many technologies were updated, and how many times the repository was updated.
  3. Click Update technologies to update your technology repositories.
    A window opens and informs you that the technology update will add, update, and remove technologies according to the changes made to the .zip file you selected.

  4. You can:

    • If you uploaded a .zip file directly from Saagie, you have to upload the new .zip file.

    • If you fetched your repository from a URL, you can edit the URL if the .zip file has been moved. It will redirect you to the repository settings: edit the URL and click Save.

  5. Click Update technologies to validate.
    A progress bar is displayed while the technologies are updating.

    You can stop the update before it is complete by clicking Cancel the update under the progress bar.

Your repository is updated and you can track all the updates on its The "History" page icon is a counterclockwise arrow. History page.

Repository Update
Figure 3: Repository Update

Reverting Updates

If you add, update, or delete a technology by mistake, no worries! You can cancel the update by reverting to the previous version of the repository.

Performing reverts in your technology catalog can have unexpected consequences for existing jobs, pipelines, and apps.
If a job, pipeline, or app uses a technology or technology context that has been changed or deleted because of a revert, it will not be able to run. Depending on the situation, you will need to modify or possibly delete and recreate the job, pipeline, or app before continuing.

  1. Click the The "Catalog" module icon is a bento button. Catalog module.
    By default, the The "Repositories" page icon is two plugs being plugged. Repositories page opens.

  2. Click the repository you want to revert in the list.
    By default, the The "Overview" page icon is a square divided into several other squares. Overview page opens.

  3. Click The "History" page icon is a counterclockwise arrow. History from the secondary navigation menu.
    The The "History" page icon is a counterclockwise arrow. History page opens. It gives you the history and allows you to keep track of the updates made.

  4. Click Revert next to the current update to return to the previous version.

    Reverting the technology update

    A message appears to warn you that reverting the update of your repository will delete the current update.

    The deleted update is no longer available and this action cannot be undone. However, you can update your technologies again with the same .zip file by repeating the manual update procedure.
  5. Select the checkbox and click Confirm revert to validate.

You may find yourself in a situation where you need to revert to a previous update of your repository. Note that you can only revert to the update that immediately precedes the current version of your repository. If you need to revert to an earlier update, revert several times until you reach the correct version.

Deleting Repositories

  1. Click the The "Catalog" module icon is a bento button. Catalog module.
    By default, the The "Repositories" page icon is two plugs being plugged. Repositories page opens.

  2. Click the repository you want to delete in the list.
    By default, the The "Overview" page icon is a square divided into several other squares. Overview page opens.

  3. Click The settings icon is a gear. Repository settings in the right-hand corner of the The "Overview" page icon is a square divided into several other squares. Overview or The "History" page icon is a counterclockwise arrow. History pages of the repository.

  4. Click the Danger Zone tab.
    This setting allows you to delete your repository.

  5. Click Delete this repository.
    A message appears asking you to confirm the deletion.

  6. OPTIONAL: Select the option to enable job and application deletion; this repository will disable all jobs and applications using the technologies in this repository.

  7. Click Delete this repository again to confirm.

There is a small period of time during which the deletion is processed and during which you will be able to cancel it.

Deleting a repository disable all jobs and apps using the technologies in that repository.